After completing your course, the Certificate of Completion will be mailed to you by US Postal Service First Class Mail. We also offer expedited USPS Priority Mail or FedEx delivery services for an additional fee. Texas state regulations do not allow certificates to be downloaded.
State Approved: USA Training has been in operation as a defensive driving course provider since 1981. Our online course is state approved for traffic ticket dismissal and insurance premium discounts.
Knowledge & Experience: The only course taught by a Licensed Professional Civil Engineer.
Lowest Cost with No Hidden Fees: Other online schools will wait until after you have signed up and only then tell you that there are additional fees to watch videos or hear audio with their course. With LoneStarDriverSafety.com, you get everything you need (including audio and video content) for only $25.
No Final Exam: Simply answer a short quiz at the end of each section.
Guaranteed to PASS: Miss a few questions? No worries. Re-watch a section and re-test until you pass the course. The only way you can fail is if cheating is detected.
The course is entirely internet based and it tracks your progress, so you can take part of the course from one computer or a mobile device, log off and then resume the course where you left off from another computer.
The course is designed to be 6 hours in length, which is the minimum amount of time that is allowed by Texas law. It may take longer, depending on the amount of time taken to answer questions, or if you have a poor internet connection.
Yes, you can use any computer or mobile device. The use of our site requires your mobile device to be connected to the internet. We recommend that you connect with wifi. You are responsible for procuring the connection of your mobile device to the internet and the payment of any data or other charges that you incur through the use of our site. Check with your carrier if you have questions about your plan and costs.
In order to receive credit for the course, the student must complete 6 hours of online instruction time, answer all multimedia questions correctly, and answer 70% of the personal verification and course content questions correctly. If a multimedia question is missed, the student will have to re-watch that section again, and then will be given another question. If a content question is missed, the student will continue to progress through the course. After the course is completed, if the student has missed more than 70% of the content questions, theycan choose to retake any section where they did not get both questions correct. The student will have to rewatch the video, and then will be given two new content questions. Retake as many sections as needed to get a passing score of 70% or more.
The only way to fail the course is if more than 70% of the personal verification questions are missed. Thesepersonal questions verify that the same student is present from registration throughout the course, and not cheating by having someone else take the course for them.
If the ticket is being taken for dismissal of a traffic ticket, the student must have the court's permission to take a defensive driving course for ticket dismissal BEFORE taking the course. It is the student's responsibility to complete the course and to take the completion certificate to the court within the time allowed by the court.
The student must provide accurate contact and traffic court information during registration. If a certificate has to be reprinted due to student error an additional $15 fee will be charged to reprint and send by standard delivery.If the student wants to have the reprint sent by expedited delivery, they will have to pay shipping costs. There will be no charge to reprint and resend a standard delivery certificate that has been lost in the mail.
For all expedited shipping, signatures are required to verify that the certificate was delivered.
There will be no charge to reprint and resend a standard delivery certificate that has been lost in the mail, if the certificate is reported lost within 2-4 weeks from completion. After 4 weeks, a $15 reprint fee will apply. Expedited delivery of a reprinted certificate may be added for an additional fee.
Account will be closed if course is not completed within 180 days.
By accepting terms and conditions, the student agrees to allow texts, emails and/or mail from Lone Star Institute.
Customer information will be shared as needed with the course provider (USA Training), and with Texas Department of License and Regulation (TDLR), as needed to process their course completion certification. Customer's personal information provided during registration will not be given or sold to any third-party. All credit information will be processed through Authorize.net. LoneStarDriverSafety.com student records will not keep any credit card information on file.
Refunds will be given for course cost and any shipping cost during the course if the customer is having technical difficulties or is not satisfied with the course for any reason.
If the student changes from expedited shipping costs to lower cost or free standard shipping before the course iscompleted, the shipping charges will be refunded.
No refunds will be given after the course has been completed. Once the course has been completed, the certificate will be promptly issued and shipped. Refunds will not be given if the student has failed due to missing 4 personal verification questions.
No refunds will be given for Driver Record orders, as that is processed immediately and we are required to provide payment to the state when we obtain that record. The student must have the latest driver's license that was issued to them in order to order the driver record.